Wednesday post & Voltron

October 25, 2017

Reminder:  This weekend is MileHi Con!  I’ll be there with elf ears on. No joke.

I’m writing a review of Geostorm for Lightspeed. Also no joke.  It was like a really bad episode of G.I. Joe. Which still makes it better than Prometheus.

And I’m all caught up on Netflix’s Voltron. Now isn’t that a trip?  The thing I think I like best:  what they’ve done with Pidge. Specifically, that Pidge is a girl. We don’t know that until partway through the first season — she’s in hiding while she searches for her lost family members. But once she’s outed, she doesn’t change. Usually the way this trope works is we find out that unassuming guy is really a girl in hiding, and then she suddenly grows her hair out and puts a dress on and everyone is so amazed that she’s actually so pretty, surprise!  Not here. Pidge doesn’t change at all. She looks, sounds, acts, exactly the same. She’s still the nerdy tech genius. Definitely not a token girl character because that was always Allura. And now we have two girls, which I think is great.

 

2 Responses to “Wednesday post & Voltron”

  1. caericarclight Says:

    I really need to watch Voltron, I guess. I’m a fan of Pidge’s voice actress, Bex Taylor-Klaus, and her Voltron-related posts on Tumblr make it look interesting.

  2. jlmerrow Says:

    I love Pidge – the new version. Have you watched 80s Voltron? It’s hilarious – all the villains telling each other to make sure their evil plans are sufficiently evil, and OMG, the voices! And I grew up in the 80s. I can’t believe we were all perfectly happy with that sort of ridiculous dialogue and overblown voice acting back then.


Leave a Reply

