murder mystery

September 29, 2017

Bannerless and The Wild Dead are murder mysteries. I’m not sure I realized just how classically structured they are until I spent the last three weeks binging Poirot, the one starring David Suchet.  Love it. The more I watch the more I just want to sit in a warm parlor with Monsieur Poirot, quietly sipping cordials and reading something soothing.

And then I got to the part in reviewing the manuscript of The Wild Dead where Enid gathers together all the dramatis personae and explains what happened and I went. . .oh, this is why I haven’t wanted to watch anything but Poirot for the last three weeks. My subconscious was trying to tell me something:  This may be post-apocalyptic, but it’s also a classically structured murder mystery. Remember that.

And now that I’m done reviewing the manuscript I think it’s time to watch Blade Runner in preparation for the sequel coming out next week. And I hear there’s some new Star Trek thing?  Two new Star Trek things? Did I get that right???

 

Leave a Reply

