Worldcon Schedule

August 7, 2017

This week I’m at the 75th Worldcon in Helsinki. Woooooo!!!

Here’s my official convention schedule:

  • Romance and the Power of the Female Gaze:  Thursday 15:00 – 16:00, 208 (Messukeskus):  Romance novels out-sell science fiction and fantasy novels all over the world. How important is the “female gaze” in SF novels and do the best sellers in SF reflect this?

(I’m looking forward to this, because this is one of those topics where I expect to learn tremendously from my fellow panelists.)

  • DC on Screen Now: Friday 12:00 – 13:00, 102 (Messukeskus): There is a huge divide in the way the DC movies and TV shows work – DC’s superheros tend to work better on a smaller screen. The panelists talk about these, compare, contrast and critique.

(Yes, this panel has ME written all over it. Do I have opinions? Oh yes I do. I’ll be your guy in a chair.)

  • Signing: Carrie Vaughn:  Saturday 11:00 – 12:00, Signing area (Messukeskus)

(What it says on the tin. Really looking forward to the chance to chat with people.)

It’s a light schedule, which I’m actually looking forward to because it means more time enjoying the convention. And the Hugo Awards are Friday night! If you see me around, unless it looks like I’m rushing off, I’m usually happy to stop and chat and sign books on the fly.

Worldcon ho!

 

2 Responses to “Worldcon Schedule”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Have a great time! Good luck on the Hugo!

  2. reharrisson Says:

    I need to keep better track of what’s happening around me … if I was on the ball, I could have made a world con … So close to Oslo, yet so far away … Have fun!

    Another random thought: After reading so many blog entries you’ve written about WWII I thought of you when I saw the movie “Simon and the Oaks” yesterday. It’s a Swedish WWII drama. Very well done and made me read up on Sweden in the war after to fulfill my curiosity.


Leave a Reply

