re-reading

July 28, 2017

I’m re-reading The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, again.  I’m well into double digits on the number of times I’ve read this. I’ve re-read many of her novels multiple times, but this is the one I always go back to when I’m feeling particularly off balance and need a warm, comforting, something.

I love this book so much, and every time I read it I try to figure out why. It’s a perfect blend of setting, character, and story. It’s both fresh and familiar. It draws on so many tropes, but spins it all into its own thing. I love spending time in this world, and with Harry. I know exactly what happens, almost to the word after spending so much time with this book. But it still seems fresh to me, somehow. It feels right.

And I’ve got three more episodes in season three of Star Wars: Rebels.  I love this show. It’s making me want to go back and finish that last fanfic that I never finished writing.  I can see the story building to something, and I’m kind of dreading exactly what grand finale it has planned. But gosh, in the meantime, it’s just great.  That perfect blend of setting, character, and story.

We may be on to something here.

 

6 Responses to “re-reading”

  1. caericarclight Says:

    Peter David wrote a Star Wars fanfic and published it in his ‘But I Digress…’ column in The Comics Buyer’s Guide. Later it was adapted in one of the Star Wars comics.

    Just sayin’….


  2. Robin really spins a great yarn. For me the go to book was Sunshine. Of course, this then leads me to wanting to get a cinnamon bun the sift of my head, but that is acceptable.

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Don’t you just love those multiple re-read books, for the points where your visual cortex keeps reading and the rest of your brain stops paying attention and just sort of transports you there like a fly on the wall in the scene.

  4. Vickie Browning Says:

    My favorite by Robin McKinley is SUNSHINE. I am torn between wishing there were a sequel and glad that there isn’t. It’s on my keeper shelf. I need to get it back out again.

  5. reharrisson Says:

    I still remember the first time I took it off the shelf at the school library, it was new and had a picture of a horse on the cover. As a nerd, the librarian let me take ‘The Blue Sword’, home over the summer.

    It is still my go to book when the waters of life turn rough.

  6. Susan Neace Says:

    The Blue Sword, the Black Dragon, Dragonhaven,Chalice, Sunshine….multiple rereads. I even used to read her blogs. I am worried about her a lot. Her last post was in January and nothing since.


Leave a Reply

