season finale season

May 24, 2017

I’ve only seen the season finale to Supergirl, which managed to encapsulate everything good and bad about the show.  First, the good.

So remember awhile back I had an epic rant about the Green Lantern trailer?  The one where the doe-eyed girlfriend tells Hal, “I believe in you, you’re awesome, go save the world!” And what I wanted in that moment with the passion of a million burning suns was a show where the earnest supportive boyfriend tells the superheroine, “I believe in you, you’re awesome, go save the world!” And my friend at the time insisted I would never, ever get that? And I was so, so angry?

Supergirl gave me that moment.  I love Mon-el, he’s a doofus and adorable and perfect for Kara, and he does it. He tells her he believes in her and sends her off to save the world. It’s so wonderful, I cried, it made me so happy.

And then the show turned around and did this:  “We’ll fill the atmosphere with lead, lead isn’t harmful to humans!”

OMG what the actual hell did they really write that line of dialog, have someone recite that line of dialog, and nobody went, “Hey guys, you know what? THAT’S SO WRONG THERE ISN’T ENOUGH WRONG FOR HOW WRONG THAT IS.”

OMG.  Supergirl. Why do you do this to us?

5 Responses to “season finale season”

  1. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    It was “Not enough to be harmful to humans.”

    Well, okay. But then they followed it up with “and the Daxamites can NEVER RETURN.”

    Or use air filtration. Or scramble to the other side of the globe to figure out what’s happening. Or…

    There’s been a whole lot of stupid in this season :(.

  2. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Given your feelings in this post any opinion on the Uma Thurman movie My Super Ex-Girlfriend? circa 2006

  3. Carbonman Says:

    And that’s one of the reasons I’m finally dropping Supergirl off my ‘record’ list. There’s too much nonsensical behavior, really stupid plot holes and too much whiny angst to keep watching it without getting really annoyed.
    I’m at the same point with The Flash because they seem to recycle ‘bad guy wants to kill the Flash to be the fastest speedster’ story every season. At least Arrow has perhaps changed things up with their season finale.

  4. carriev Says:

    I love the ethos on Supergirl, but it really is dumb as bricks.

    I never saw “Super Ex Girlfriend.” It looked really cringeworthy.

    I’m about done with Flash too, when I realized it isn’t just “speedsters travel back in time to fuck with Barry,” it’s “speedsters travel back in time and stab the women he loves to fuck with Barry.” One big fridging.

    I actually stopped watching Arrow a couple months ago? Maybe I should catch up.

  5. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    Flash has been a whole bag o’ stupid this season. Supergirl has been less so, but that’s not saying a whole lot unfortunately.

    I stopped watching Legends of Tomorrow because of the stupidity (it’s really hard to do time travel stories well, and they weren’t even trying), and Flash is getting there.


Leave a Reply

