Big Day 2017!

May 12, 2017

Tomorrow, Saturday, is birding’s Global Big Day 2017! You may remember I participated last year, and found it to be a fun mini-challenge, a real spur to take my birding to the next level, visit some sites I’d never been to before, and be more diligent about recording my observations.

I learned a ton last year, and I’m going to try to apply some of that this year. In the first place, the weather is supposed to be a ton better, so I’m hoping my stamina will hold out longer. I’m also going to pack plenty of food and sodas and things. (Seems like a no-brainer, right? You’d be surprised…)  I’m going to try to use the spotting scope this year. I usually like to walk while I’m watching, but I have a couple of spots in mind where I can park with the scope and still see some cool things. I’m also going to make more of an effort to go after sightings of common birds that I just missed last year, like pigeons and crows, and record what I see in transit, driving out to the sites, which I didn’t do last year.

Other than those changes, I’m going to visit the same spots I did last year, because I really want to compare this year with last year. Both to see what a difference the weather makes, and also to see if maybe I really have become a better birder in the meantime. Last year’s goal was 50 birds, and I got right to 50. Let’s see if I can get past 50 this year.

Happy Birding!

 

Leave a Reply

