misc. and sundry

May 8, 2017

So last week turned into “I finished a draft of the book so therefore I must do all the things I’d been putting off while I was focused on finishing the book.” It did not go well and I got a little stressed out. But after a mini-break on Saturday and an hour in the hot tub, I did All the Things on Sunday.  Which felt great right up until I tried getting through my sewing pile, and the serger stopped cooperating, and it was 10 pm and I realized I couldn’t figure it out right then and it was time to collapse and read a book. (Bernard Cornwall’s The Last Kingdom, since I like the show so much. The book is EVEN BETTER.)

Today. I’ll finish the sewing today.

And then I’ve been thinking about Legion, most of which I’ve seen twice at this point, and Mr. Robot, and how similar their storytelling techniques are, postmodern and surreal. But they both also have main characters with pretty profound mental illnesses. But the shows aren’t about their illnesses. They’re about all these other things, with characters who happen to have mental illnesses.  I love that.

Okay. Gotta knock some things off the to do list. It never ends. And that’s okay.

 

Leave a Reply

