protest

April 24, 2017

I’ve been to four protest marches/rallies so far this year.  This is four more than I’ve ever done at all since college. So yeah, I’m one of those you read about in the news who’s been particularly inspired by recent political events.

(This was at the Women’s March in Denver, January 21, 2017. Near as I can figure I was smack in the middle of that crowd of 150,000.)

It’s been fun, I gotta say. It’s inspiring to be around so many people who are also motivated to get out and be counted. If these marches do nothing else, they tell me that at least I’m not alone in how I’m feeling.

They’ve also all had a different feel and energy to them. The Women’s March was the most intense, probably because we were all hyper aware of our message, and because it was just so immense.  The Tax March was an entirely different crowd, and attracted more than just the usual progressives, it seemed. A lot of government transparency activists, and so on. Also:  a couple of actual white-supremacist fascists showed up trying to pick fights. No one took them up on it. Everybody kept an eye on them, though.

 

(This was the rally in support of Planned Parenthood outside Senator Cory Gardner’s office, February 11, 2017. This was also right after Senator Gardner very publicly stated that he was sure all those people calling into his office are paid protestors. A friend of mine has been wearing a T-shirt that says “Colorado Voter, Not a Paid Protestor” to every single rally since then.)

The March for Science was just plain fun. Lots of local science organizations came out and set up booths to run activities, demos for kids, hand out flyers, etc. It makes me think we need to have giant science fairs every single month forever.

Two of these marches, I went to local science fiction conventions the next day. (“Sorry, I can only come on Sunday,” I told them both.) And I loved being able to go to the conventions and say, “Yes, I marched.”

I think these are great for getting publicity and for showing that opposition to the current administration isn’t going away.  They’re not disruptive. They have permits, the streets have been shut down beforehand, and so on.  They also feel very safe.  A truly disruptive protest would be one that doesn’t have permits, one where crowds come out and stop traffic themselves. A truly disruptive strike is one that doesn’t last a day, but goes on for weeks.  Maybe we won’t need to go there. Maybe this’ll be enough.

I’ve been joking that we’re all very bourgeois protestors, counting steps on Fitbits and going out for a glass of wine after. Only partly joking, there.  I don’t know where this is all going to lead.

But that’s part of why I’m marching.

 

 

2 Responses to “protest”


  1. I’ve just started reading your work after reading your poignant short story “That Game We Played During the War,” as part of my reading for the Hugos ballot. Wonderful to find you are marching, and speaking out, too.

  2. carriev Says:

    Thank you so much for reading my work! Welcome to my blog!


Leave a Reply

