Hugo finalist!

April 5, 2017

So this happened.

My story, “That Game We Played During the War,” is a finalist for the Hugo Award for Best Short Story.

I’m really excited.  This kind of recognition feels amazing. Especially for what I think is one of the best stories I’ve ever written. (I’m closing in on 100 published short stories, so that’s saying something.)

It’s a really good Hugo ballot overall, I think. And not just because a bunch of real-life friends are also nominated. Marjorie Liu’s Monstress in the Graphic Novel category. Max Gladstone’s Craft Sequence and The Expanse are up for Best Series, and the Expanse TV show is up for a Best Dramatic – Short award.  It’s going to be a hell of a party in Helsinki, and I’m so glad I get to be there.

And Carrie Fisher’s memoir The Princess Diarist is up for Best Related Work. This makes me so, so happy, and so, so sad at the same time. But now I can always say that I was a Hugo finalist the same year as Carrie Fisher.

 

3 Responses to “Hugo finalist!”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Congratulations Carrie!

  2. kim2cats Says:

    That is such great news. Congratulations. 🎉😍🎊🍾

    Kim Power President The Sunflower Foundation (Australia) Inc. Level 4, Ross House 247 Flinders Lane Vic 3000 +61 3 8547 1028 0407 858 901 http://www.sunflowerfoundation.ngo Email: kim@sunflowerfoundation.ngo Twitter: @Sunflower1 FaceBook http://www.facebook.com/sunflowerfoundation

    >

  3. Jazzlet Says:

    Chuffed to bits for you! (‘chuffed’ – really very pleased, plus ‘to bits’ added exceptionally pleased, northern UK)


Leave a Reply

