Colorado Book Award 2017

March 13, 2017

Amaryllis and Other Stories is a nominee for the 2017 Colorado Book Award, in the genre fiction category.  Some nice egoboo for the week, and a boost for my little small press collection. Winners announced at the end of May, I think.

In other news:  I’ve got my plane tickets to Helsinki.  I’m going to Worldcon in August.  Woohoo!

I’m also taking a week-long layover in Iceland, and planning that trip has been daunting. There’s a lot to see, and it turns out many hotels/guesthouses/etc. are already nearly booked up.  But I think I’ve got my plans worked out.  And yes, there will definitely be some riding involved. Because Icelandic horses!!! I’m so excited!

Any advice on other sights to see? Birds to watch?

 

9 Responses to “Colorado Book Award 2017”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    No sights to recommend, There is an indy film called “Land Ho” About two old friends on a trip around Iceland.

  2. Elaine Keech Says:

    Are you absolutely certain that you’ll be able to get back in the country are what sounds like a truly fabulous trip?

  3. carriev Says:

    Yes, I’m certain I’ll get back in. I’m more worried that Europe will decide to ban Americans. I wouldn’t blame them.

  4. Martin Says:

    I haven’t tried it myself, but a friend recommended to go diving.

  5. Erik K Says:

    If you decide to go to the Blue Lagoon or another hot spring of its type, I would recommend as early in the morning as they open. When we went, there was no one there for about an hour and a half, then the place flooded with people.

    Also, I only have the usual tourist places to suggest, such as Gullfoss. However, don’t let the fact that it’s common dissuade you from making time – it was really, really cool. Also, on the way you can see where the continental plates connect! Geology!

  6. Re Says:

    A friend of mine recently went snorkeling in her trip to Reykjavik. She enjoyed it, but forgot to bring along a change of clothes and her dry suit leaked just a little bit.

    A few years ago a student of mine rented a camper and drove all the way around Island and came back with incredible pictures of waterfalls. Other friends have biked and tent camped around the whole country. So there are many placed outside of Reykjavik that are amazing, if you have wheels and overnight possibilities.

    If you’re visiting Oslo, Norway I’m happy to give many tips. I also have many for Northern Finland – but the south I know nothing about.

  7. Re Says:

    … and I can’t edit my comment. Iceland. I typed too fast. There are probably others, my apologies …

  8. carriev Says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot about the diving there, but I’m not dry suit certified and holy crap I bet the water’s cold! I may just sit on a cliff somewhere with my binoculars and count puffins.

  9. Re Says:

    It’s a snorkeling trip, so no certification needed. My friend said she wasn’t cold until she got out of the dry suit and found herself in wet clothes.

    To be honest – I’m not sure I would try it myself. She won the trip in a pub quiz the night before, otherwise I think she would have opted for puffins on a cliff too!


Leave a Reply

