Resident Evil: The Final Chapter

February 6, 2017

Is it?

Is it really the final chapter?

I’m going to take them at their word, because they did some stuff that really did make this seem like the end. But in Hollywood, never say never, because this is the year we’re getting sequels to both Blade Runner and Twin Peaks and dear god when will the 80’s movie recycling jamboree ever end?

Anyhoo.  I STILL LOVE THE RESIDENT EVIL MOVIES.  This series has been so consistent in delivering exactly what it promises, with stylish techno action set pieces held together by theme and aesthetic more than plot, and making that entirely okay. Alice continues to be magnificent.

I actually have a lot more to say about this movie, but in a strange twist it looks like I’m going to be reviewing it for Lightspeed next month, so I’m saving my analysis for that. Because really, with this ostensibly being the Final Chapter, I have a chance to review the franchise as a whole. With the release of this film, the previous chapters have been popping up on TV, and I’ve caught some of them, and I’ve been developing some ideas. Whatever you say about the plot and action of these movies, I’m going to propose that thematically, they’ve been impressively consistent. These movies are saying something, and next month I’ll talk about what that might be.

Until then, the usual review applies:  if you like the Resident Evil movies, you’ll probably like it. If you don’t…then why are you asking?

 

Leave a Reply

