some links for you!

January 11, 2017

A number of online opportunities presented themselves this week:

There’s a special Wild Cards e-book bundle available that includes the first five Wild Cards novels.  These include my stories in the reissued versions of #1 and #4.  If you’ve been wondering where to start with the series, this is it!

Tor.com is giving away an anthology Some of the Best From Tor.com for 2016, if you sign up for the newsletter.  I’m in this one too!  It includes my story “That Game We Played During the War.”

And my January movie reviews for Lightspeed went live this week.  It in you can see more of my comments on Moana, Rogue One, and Passengers.

Continuing on with Julia Child’s My Life in France and I got a little teary-eyed thinking that I was about the same age when I started my own Operation Learn To Cook as she was when she started classes at Le Cordon Bleu.  A couple years younger maybe.  But still.  It’s never too late.

 

5 Responses to “some links for you!”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Have you seen this trailer for the movie about the kid born on Mars coming to earth in spite of the earth environment killing him?

  2. carriev Says:

    I have, and I’m super grateful that my book is coming out first.

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    I saw the trailer last night and changed the title to “ The Fault in My Mars” Blech!


  4. In reading your Moana review, I noticed that bit wondering about any other Polynesian-themed fantasy films. There just so happens to be a 2014 film streaming on Netflix called The Dead Lands which mostly fits the bill, IMHO — my older sister recommended it to me after we saw Moana, and although I felt it wasn’t as good as it could have been, it was intriguing. Among its all-Polynesian cast is Maori actor Lawrence Makoare, whom Lord of the Rings movie fans may know as Lurtz in The Fellowship of the Ring.

  5. yet another nathan Says:

    From what I remember, Sean Stewart’s “Clouds End” has a number of elements of Pacific Islander culture in it’s world-building.


Leave a Reply

