Monday updates!

January 9, 2017

One week until MARTIANS ABROAD!  Don’t forget to check the “conventions and signings” link on the right for where I’ll be over the next couple of weeks.  I also started a Goodreads List of some of the books I used for research, as well as other books about exploring space, in case you’re looking for some sweet sweet science.

Last week I read Well-Schooled in Murder by Elizabeth George.  This week I’m reading Julia Child’s memoir, My Life in France.

I caught some of the 2003 Daredevil movie on TV last night, and it’s kind of shocking just how much the basic mode of superhero movies has changed over the last decade.  That thing had a voice over I’d forgotten about.  A lot of cheesy cinematography.  A lot of assuming the audience isn’t going to get it so we’d better dumb it down.  And Colin Farrell as Bullseye?  I had totally forgotten about that.

So is anyone watching Versailles?  I’ve seen the first few episodes and I’m intrigued, but I’m not quite convinced it’s entirely good.  If I was going to be flippant I’d say it was The Tudors in France, and I’m wondering if I’m enjoying this more simply because I don’t know the history the way I know Tudor history and so can’t get distracted and offended.  It’s definitely of the Game of Thrones sexy sexy, naked women everywhere, court politics mode of TV.  But it also has a few characters who entirely defy stereotypes.  The brother, for one.  The lady doctor is completely charming me — I want a show all about her.  But mostly the aesthetics are amazing.  There’s a theme about Louis’ vision for Versailles, and the dream-like nature of the project.  He literally has dreams and visions about it, and sometimes memories intrude.  There’s a fantastic ambient score underlying the whole thing, adding to the not-quite-real mood, and lots of beautiful, deep shots of gardens, rooms, crowds of people.  It’s quite lovely.  But in the end, is it really just The Tudors in France?  (Sorry, Francophiles.  Maybe The Tudors is Versailles in England?)

 

5 Responses to “Monday updates!”

  1. sarah peterson Says:

    I was recently introduced to a raunchy, cheeky, little show on Hulu. It’s called Plebs. If you ever get the chance, check it out. Also, if you ever make it to a con or signing in northern-ish Utah, that would be awesome:) Just wanna say that the Kitty series is on my all-time favorites list and I am really looking forward to Martians. Thanks Carrie:)

  2. carriev Says:

    Thank you for reading!

  3. Jazzlet Says:

    Pedant mode – Versailles may be the French Tudors, but not vice versa; the Tudors came to an end with the death of Elizabeth I in 1603 and the hunting lodge at Versailles wasn’t built until 1623, while the extensions that turned it into the palace we know today didn’t start to be built until 1661.

    I am somewhat amazed to have remembered the dates roughly right as it is over thirty five years since I studied European Economic and Social History 1603 – 1901. I have read about these times since, but haven’t tried to memorise the dates the way I did back then for exams.

  4. carriev Says:

    Yes I know, I was being silly and commenting on how annoyed a Francophile would be at the implication that the court of Louis XIV was somehow derivative of the English…

  5. Randy Upton Says:

    I found Versailles Interesting, though I detected more Arthurian undertones than Tudors. Love triangle, divided country, Wise adviser ( I can’t be the only one who saw the gardener as Merlin.) age of enlightenment. sure sounds like Camelot to me


Leave a Reply

