media catchup

January 2, 2017

Happy New Year!  You should know I made blood sacrifice to ensure a good year.  i.e. I sliced my fingers cutting limes at the New Year’s Eve party.  It’s fine, except sliced fingertips plus typing = ouch.  I also successfully sabred a champagne bottle with my rapier.  Not very well, mind you, but I did it.

Meanwhile, I’ve caught up on some viewing.

In this month’s Lightspeed, I briefly review Moana, Rogue One, and Passengers.

Here’s the short version of my review of Passengers:  This film miserably fails its premise.  It could have been a good middling Hollywood SF adventure romance.  If they both woke up at the same time, and by accident.  But he wakes up first, then purposefully sabotages her hibernation pod.  So it turns into a movie about how this stalker and kidnapper really isn’t such a bad guy once you get to know him.  Big side eye, there.  I have a lot more to say, in the full review.

Moving on.

Legends of Tomorrow:  I watched the first couple of episodes of this season to get the Justice Society glimpse, and my speculation was correct.  My longed-for Starman reference appeared here.  Well, not exactly.  I mean, my Starman is Jack Knight and the mid-90’s run.  This was Stargirl, a more recent incarnation.  But I believe that is Jack’s cosmic rod she was using (or what will become Jack’s, in 50 years…)  And it was kind of fun to get what is essentially her Bombshells version, sort of.  (Bombshells:  a graphic novel excuse to draw all the DC heroines and villains as 40’s pinups, but they have excellent adventures and it’s a lot of fun.)

And Rogue One was better on the second viewing.  I liked seeing the setup, that we do get a pretty good introduction to each member of our gang before they finally all end up on a ship together, bonded by chance and circumstance.  Classic gaming setup.

Those last five minutes are still a kick in the teeth.  The whole last battle, really, (The hammerhead corvette, OMG.  “Are they doing what I think they’re doing?”  Yes, yes they are.)  but once you understand what’s happening when that disk gets passed hand to hand and finally ends up on the blockade runner, and you know exactly what happens next — that’s how you do a prequel.  A brilliant bit of fan service, there.

 

7 Responses to “media catchup”

  1. Jazzlet Says:

    I am deeply impressed that you sabraged a champagne bottle. Kudos!

  2. Tim Says:

    Passenger Review

    Carrie, I love reading your reviews as I can almost always tell whether I will like a movie and why (or why not) from them. Occasionally, we don’t completely agree and Passengers is one of those occasions.

    WARNING – MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD – DON’T READ ANY FARTHER IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW.

    You’re right that this wasn’t ever going to be a great piece of Sci-Fi. It has major holes such as why don’t the ship simply wake up some of the crew when it has a problem it can’t deal with. The only reason for watching it at all is the relationship between Jim and Aurora. His sabotaging her sleep pod is kidnapping and murder as she claims. The problem is that without this act you lose the middle 3rd of the movie and the plot becomes a lot less interesting. If they both are woken by the ship then it just a pair of lovers saving the day.
    Perhaps a more satisfying ending would have been that right after Jim discovers that the medical pod can double as a sleep pod, the final scene should have been the crew waking her up wanting to know why she’s in the medical pod and why there’s an 80 foot tree growing in the concourse.

    Tim

  3. Bonnie McDaniel Says:

    I saw Rogue One today. Yes, it was a brilliant bit of fan service, but man, it was rough seeing that person (the very last one), even CGI’d. At least it was for me.

  4. carriev Says:

    See, I think they could have gone with a straight-up romance plot. They both wake up. They don’t really like each other. Shenanigans ensue. They come to appreciate each other. It would have helped if she’d had some skills/purpose rather than being a stereotypical beautiful socialite.

    Bottom line is, the movie really needed some major tweaking to palatable.

  5. Tim Schmidt Says:

    Carrie,
    I’ve had time to think some more on this plus read a few other reviews ( I stillcan’t read yours as the sight says it won’t be available till Jan 10). and I’m coming around to your point of view. One of the other reviews implied the movie was supposed to have a different ending but Sony insisted on a “happy” ending.
    Almost all the reviews agree with you that what Jim does is unforgivable and her sudden change of heart wrecks the story.

    Tim

  6. carriev Says:

    People seem to either want to rewrite it as a Fatal Attraction style horror, or as a sweet romance and space (which requires them waking up at the same time). I see the problem is the filmmakers didn’t recognize these two impulses in the same movie and tried to gloss over the problem.


  7. I saw The Passengers. I thought they woke up at the same time. That’s what the ads implied. I thought it was a good movie anyway.


Leave a Reply

