The Year of Stalled Projects

December 30, 2016

At the end of 2016, I’m still thinking about 2015.  I didn’t have a novel release in 2016, and this was because of stuff that happened in 2015.  Which, basically, was a lot of nothing.  (Thank goodness for Amaryllis and Other Stories, it gave me something to talk about.)  At the end of 2015 I got a new agent and spun up some new projects.  This meant letting go of some of the old projects, at least for now.  Looking ahead, I’m still coming to terms with what I thought was going to happen and ended up not, and what actually is happening.

2015 is going down in my personal history as The Year of Stalled Projects.  Reading over some of that year’s blog entries, I had so many things I was excited about.  All these writing projects I wanted to talk about but didn’t because I didn’t know what was going to happen to them.  Projects that it turned out never went under contract, never sold, and are still sitting on my hard drive, unfinished.  One entire novel written, two more 3/4 written, a couple of novellas, a screenplay.  All moved to the back burner right now.

It’s really depressing when I write it out like that.

The good news is, I made the changes I needed to and things are a lot, a lot different this year.  (Thanks, Seth!)  Two new novels with actual release dates, covers, and everything.  (Martians Abroad due out in just a couple of weeks, read the first chapter here!  And Bannerless due out in July!)  Cool writing stuff I can actually talk about.

Now that I’ve got some momentum back on the business/career side, I’m digging out.  Doing some triage of those projects, figuring out what I can do to get some of that 2015 work out there.  My current contract is one book a year, after years of being on the two book a year grind.  This gives me some breathing room.  We’ll see what I can do with it.

My writer friend Daniel likes to say this business is all about gambling.  If you want to win, you have to put your chips on the table.  Not all of those chips are going to work out.  But some of them will.  If you keep making your bets.

I’ve got a lot of bets left to make.

Onward and upward!  Here’s to a happy 2017.

 

 

2 Responses to “The Year of Stalled Projects”

  1. Griggk the goblin Says:

    May 2017 bring you all the joy I’m hoping to find for myself.

  2. Matt M Says:

    Nothing worse than a lot of work for no payoff, hoping for a better 2017. Any chance we will see a third Golden Age novel? Loved what you were doing with both of the previous ones!


Leave a Reply

