Star Wars: Rogue One

December 16, 2016

First, some shameless self promotion:  the first chapter of Martians Abroad is up at Tor.com.  Less than a month to go till release day!

And now, to a brief-ish review of Star Wars: Rogue One, the movie I have been waiting for for 25 years.

First off, I’m really annoyed at a handful of people who are insisting that spoilers don’t matter on this because we know what happens because Episode IV, yadda yadda.  That’s not the point, and they know that’s not the point.  Yes, we know how it turns out, much the same way we know how Titanic  or Henry V are going to turn out.  But this is also a story about individual people and their arcs and what they do, and those are the details we don’t want spoiled.  I’m annoyed that I have to explain this to some people.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE MOVIE, CARRIE.

Oh yes.  I REALLY LIKED IT.  I’m still processing.  As you’ll recall, my rubric was “a rollicking adventure espousing the heroic ideals of Star Wars,” and I got that.  And I also got what I’ve been wanting for since I started reading Rogue Squadron and playing the RPG, and that’s a Star Wars movie that breaks out of the strictures of the main saga and shows us some new characters and new corners of the universe and so on, and even uses a slightly different filmic language to do so.  YES.  This really opens up the world for even more storytelling possibilities.

So much more I could say.  I will refrain.

And I really want to talk about the part that kicked my teeth in. (In a good way.  A brilliant way, even.) But I won’t.  Not yet.

 

3 Responses to “Star Wars: Rogue One”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    I am glad you liked it and got what you wanted in the movie Carrie. I hope that you end up doing a long review at Lightspeed down the road. I really have enjoyed reading your movie reviews both here and at Lightspeed!

  2. Jynwynn Says:

    When? 🙂 I finally saw it. With my family! 🙂


  3. Hmmm… I guess I liked it, but only because the third act just barely made up for the turgid pacing of the first two acts.

    That said, while I liked it more than Fantastic Beasts, it’s not quite in the same league as my two favorite movies this year (The Jungle Book and Moana). It was definitely close, though.


Leave a Reply

