movies and sundry

December 14, 2016

My long review of Arrival is up at Lightspeed.  I’ll say again, I really liked this and want to see it again to catch what I missed the first time.  I hope between this, The Martian, Interstellar, and so on, we’re looking at a growing trend of smart, high-concept, problem-solving science fiction in the movies.  It’s like I’ve always said:  these stories don’t need monsters or explosions to make them riveting.

Yes, I have my Rogue One tickets for tomorrow night.  I’ll report in, without spoilers, on Friday.  I’m on review and spoiler lockdown myself right now.  I have no idea what to expect.  What I want is a rollicking adventure espousing the heroic ideals of Star Wars.  Fingers crossed.

The annual viewing of White Christmas has happened.  The annual viewing of The Muppet Christmas Carol is still on deck.  And I may or may not have added Hogfather to the annual holiday movie viewing roster… This year may clinch it.

Holiday countdown continues.  Packages arriving, presents coming together, decorations still going up.  Maybe not as much to do as I feared.  Maybe I can sit back and relax a little.  Enjoy things.  Except I haven’t started any baking yet…

 

3 Responses to “movies and sundry”


  1. Definitely add Hogfather to the Holiday list – Death and Susan are such fantastic characters.

  2. TM Says:

    We added Hogfather to our annual Christmas movie slate last year. It’s one of my all time favorite holiday movies.

  3. Pen Says:

    Funnily enough, am currently rereading my treasured (signed) copy. Love it. Have never seen the movie though.


Leave a Reply

