Monday reviews and sundry

December 12, 2016

I had a great busy weekend — my busiest of the holiday season, with an SCA event on Saturday, a play Sunday afternoon, and a really nice dinner I was able to take my friends to because I had a gift card.  I’m so glad I’ve been feeling better so I could really enjoy it.

I’m also back to work.  I got frustrated with some of my lingering projects, so I put them aside to start working in earnest on the next novel, the sequel to Bannerless.  That feels great.

The play we saw:  The Best Christmas Pageant Ever.  I had forgotten that I love this story.  I had it read to me almost every year in elementary school.  But after that, it sort of vanished out of my life.  So when I saw the Longmont Theater Company was putting it on this month, I did a big squee and then made my friends who’d never heard of it go see it with me.  Turns out, I still love it.  I’d missed it.

And I don’t think I mentioned that I saw Moana.  I might be writing a longer review for Lightspeed so I’ll be brief:  It’s gorgeous.  One of the most beautiful animated films I’ve ever seen.  Pacific Islander voyager culture, the scenes with their great ocean-going fleets — I want MORE.  And Moana is a really wonderful self-rescuing princess character.  Then there’s that chicken.  OMG the chicken.

SCA:  my local barony had its Midwinter feast.  Roman-themed, so of course I dressed as an invading Visigoth but no one really noticed.  Instead, the Baronesses created a new award and named it after me.  I’ve received many honors in my years in the SCA, but this has to be about the highest.  I’m floored.  (The award is called St. Cecily with the Cup and is granted for bardic and heraldic feats.  The premier recipient and I are already plotting miracles.)

And that’s my Monday.  So many emails to catch up on…

 

 

Leave a Reply

