“putting the ‘punk’ in punctual…”

December 2, 2016

That was just one of the many great things Henry Rollins said last night at the Boulder Theater.  I wasn’t going to go.  I’ve come down with a wretched cold, and I’m feeling even more introverted than usual.  But a friend had an extra ticket and invited me, and I went, and I’m glad I did because Rollins said a bunch of things I needed to hear, some catharsis after the election, creative inspiration, and just awesome stories about being a type-A personality punk with social anxiety bumping into folk like David Bowie and Ru Paul.

Mostly, for me, was the way he said it.  He talked for two and a half hours straight, barely pausing to breathe, not stopping for water, the flow jumping from topic to topic to topic while somehow still being relevant.

If you’ve ever been to one of my Q&A’s or readings, you’ll recognize this pattern, because it’s pretty much what I do.  I get one question, and forty minutes later I finally come up for air, chagrined that I’ve rambled on for so long and probably bored my audience to tears and WTF is wrong with me.  But after seeing Rollins hold court and be riveting and inspiring, I realized that, Hey, maybe that technique is just fine.  Fun, even.  Fascinating, seeing all this stuff pour from one person’s brain.  I’m not as good or practiced a public speaker as Rollins is, I could use some polish and refinement.  But hey, I don’t think I’m going to worry about my 40 minute on-stage rambling jags anymore.

Thanks, Henry.

 

2 Responses to ““putting the ‘punk’ in punctual…””


  1. I am now a bit disappointed that your interviews on YouTube are only about 15 or so minutes long, you should record your Q&A book events!

  2. Susan Asplund Says:

    I have heard you apologize for rambling (I like it). The rambling is the best part of many author talks. Those rambles are how we as readers get to know things about authors that we would never have asked a question about. It is as valuable as a signature because it can be pulled out and shared with others.


Leave a Reply

