Arrival

November 14, 2016

I’m writing a long-form review of Arrival for Lightspeed next month and so will save the bulk of my thoughts for that.  But if you love science fiction, you must see this film.  It’s an heir to one of my favorite, favorite sub-genres of SF film:  the intellectual, peaceful first-contact movie.  The Day the Earth Stood Still (the original, naturally), Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Contact… and now this.

It successfully adapted the unadaptable short story, Ted Chiang’s “Story of Your Life.”  Just go see it.

 

4 Responses to “Arrival”

  1. jobber111 Says:

    Thank You, sounds like just what the doctor ordered.

    Joe


  2. My sister said the same that I must see this. I will go alone so I can savor it.

  3. Carbonman Says:

    Great movie but my wife hated the ending.
    I’m a little unsure of what it means as well…

  4. carriev Says:

    It was less ambiguous than the ending of the story…


Leave a Reply

