Bat Boy: the Musical

October 24, 2016

Like Urinetown, this is another sci fi satire musical I’ve known about since forever (it’s just a few years older than Urinetown) but haven’t managed to see — until now.  And kudos to whoever at the Longmont Theater Company keeps picking these seminal off-Broadway science fiction-adjacent shows to do.  Keep it up!

So, how was it?  I have to admit, this went way way darker than I was expecting.  I think I was expecting high camp silliness, and that’s certainly there.  But then the bodies start hitting the floor at the end of Act I and don’t really stop until the finale, where the stage rivals that at the end of Hamlet.  The show takes a very dim view of humanity.

Next up in the series of late 90’s to mid 00’s camp science fiction musicals that I would love to see:  The Last Starfighter: the Musical.  Alas, it’s unclear to me whether that one’s ever even been performed since its original premier.  Hey, Longmont Theater Company…

And someday, someday, I will see Hamilton

 

One Response to “Bat Boy: the Musical”

  1. Cana Says:

    I love Bat Boy. It was the best show I was involved with in college, and literal gallons of blood got mixed up before every performance. Fun stuff.


Leave a Reply

