Monday state of the desk

October 17, 2016

This Halloween my niece wants to be Mary Poppins, so I’m making the outer layer of her costume (hat, coat, etc.). I actually found a parrot-head umbrella so I won’t be embarking on adventures in Sculpey this time around.  But the coat. Heh. I can tell I’m a real costumer now because I looked for a coat and couldn’t find anything that worked. I hit up thrift stores. I searched online. And all the coats for little girls were too frilly, too cute, or too pink. I needed a nice somber, tailored, governess’s coat, right?  I checked “how to make a Mary Poppins costume” websites and they’re all like, “Just take a jacket out of your closet!”  But they don’t look right.  So I made one from scratch, and I’m quite pleased with it. All I have left are buttons and buttonholes, and then it goes off to the kid.  I’ll show you when I get pictures of the complete ensemble.

Mr. Robot, second season:  I’m through episode 8. This show.  THIS SHOW. Taking unreliable narrators to a whole new level. It’s kicking my ass and I’m loving it so much, and it’s still so cyberpunk, without being actual cyberpunk. I am all amazement.

I have a story to wrap up and send to an editor, another to revise and send back, a new novel to start, a critique to finish up.  I bet I can get it all done this week and I’ll feel so accomplished.  Oh yes. Must hang on to that feeling, it doesn’t come around very often…



Leave a Reply

