some new TV

October 3, 2016

A new TV season is starting.  Time to sort through it and pick what I’m going to follow for the next few months. I’m already behind.

Luke Cage:  I’ve still got a couple of episodes to watch on this. For the most part, I think it’s great.  Brilliant, even. One of the most visually well put together TV shows I’ve seen in a long time, and the music is to die for. It all comes together to convey a powerful sense of place and mood. Lots of great women characters as well.  But I’m finding it has the same problem as Jessica Jones:  the muddy middle.  About episodes 7 – 11 feel like they’re spinning wheels and treading in circles, and the characters have to be a little bit dumb to make it work. I’m sure the last couple of episodes will pick up, but there’s a bit of a slog to get there.  Hey Netflix, maybe these things ought to be 8 episodes long instead of 13?

Westworld:  A series “reimagining” of the 1973 movie, which inexplicably I don’t think I’ve seen. Only one episode so far, and it too is very stylish and visually intriguing. And so many horses, which is always a plus in my book, but I know terrible things are about to happen to them, because this is very, very violent.  They’re just robots so we can shoot as many of them as we want, right?!  The show reminded me a lot of Ex Machina in the themes it’s presenting:  what does machine intelligence look like, when does a robot become sentient and can you tell, and if a robot appears human enough, is it reasonable to continue to treat it differently than a human being?  Good science fiction so far, but I’ll be interested to see if they can maintain this, and if they have a story that’s actually going to go somewhere.


3 Responses to “some new TV”

  1. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    I thought both DDS2, JJ, and LK suffered from third-act problems: spending a significant amount of episode time in the second half with back-story. As a result, I thought they were all just about one episode to long.

    I won’t detail why yet, until you finish, but this ended up being my least favourite of the four seasons they’ve done so far. And that’s a shame, because I like the character SO MUCH MORE — he’s nowhere near as broken as Matt Murdock or Jessica Jones, and he embraces his role without brooding over it. The four villains they set up were fantastic — Shades is my favourite villain in them all so far, and Alfre Woodard plays true evil nightmarishly well.

  2. ygjayla Says:

    Luke Cage seems really interesting to me, but I haven’t had the time to watch it yet—it was really helpful to read your honest review on the show! I honestly don’t watch TV that much because I always lose interest in most series, but I’m definitely going to check out these shows!

  3. Tim Schmidt Says:

    I’ve seen 2 episodes of Luke Cage and concur it is extremely well done. I really like what they’ve done with the supporting cast.
    I’m also watching The Good Place and, to me, it is hilarious seeing.
    Looking forward to Timeless.


Leave a Reply

