my third pair of socks

July 11, 2016

I’ve finished knitting a third pair of socks:

third socks

Most complex yet.  I used a pattern from The Enchanted Sole by Janel Laidman, and the yarn is “Stone Walk” from Western Sky Knits.  Pretty darned fancy, all told.  I’m also told I’m super-successful because I’ve actually done both socks on every pair I’ve knitted so far.  Heh.

I don’t think I’m really a fan of knitting socks.  Hand-knitted socks are super-comfy, but they seem to take me a really long time to do.  And then you have to do it all over again.  Tiny stitches, tiny needles, and stress about whether it’s all going to fit when you’re done.  I really like knitting scarves — much more meditative, I think, and they always fit.  So, I’m going to take a break from socks for now.  Go back to knitting a few Jayne hats, with big chunky yarn.

 

 

3 Responses to “my third pair of socks”

  1. Drisanna Says:

    You can avoid second sock syndrome by knitting them 2 at a time. It’s amazing how many pairs of socks I finish now. On the other hand, I don’t want you to take too much time out from writing either. I enjoy your books too much.

  2. Drisanna Says:

    Also, if you let them toe up, you won’t have to worry about size either. You can try them on as you knit, so you know they will fit when you’re done.


  3. They may be a lot of work, but they came out gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

