Monday update

July 4, 2016

Happy Independence Day, USA-ians!  The home fireworks thing has been a little out of hand this year, it feels like.  Last night was so bad Lily spent it under the bed.  At least she’s not a runner.  Me — I just have sparklers.  Tonight, we’ll be grilling, which is really enough excitement around here.

A few more things:

1. It’s the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Somme.  I sometimes feel like Western culture still hasn’t really processed World War I, the first industrialized war, the war that set off everything else that happened in the 20th century, like a row of dominoes.  In Britain, this astonishing living memorial made amazing use of costuming and live-action roleplaying to remember the battle.  This is the real power of theater/costuming.

2. I finished season 2 of Star Wars:  Rebels.  Well, that was a little abrupt.  I’m still a Kanan fangirl but I really want to see what happens next.

3.  Shark Week on the Discovery Channel is getting better about not being all sensationalist shark attack coverage all the time.  In fact, this year it was mostly enthusiastic scientists leaning dangerously off the sides of boats while trying to stick tags, cameras, and whatnot onto shark fins.  Kind of endearing.  And I really liked that they had shows dedicated to other species than great whites:  makos, oceanic white-tips, tigers.  In fact, in what may be a first, they even had segments on sharks I’ve seen while diving:  various species of reef sharks, and my beloved nurse sharks.  These species tend to be smaller and not aggressive, so I guess they don’t make good TV, but I really like them.  They’re very chill when you spot them underwater.  What I really want?  I’d love for Shark Week to do a segment on whale sharks, which are just really amazing and a holy grail for many divers.  I have not seen a whale shark in the wild.  Yet.

4.  This is the stage I’m at on the revision of Bannerless:

notes

Spoiler:  I figured out how to fix it.  I helpfully cropped that bit out to not give it away.  I should be done with this thing in just a couple more days.

 

2 Responses to “Monday update”


  1. Though I have yet to see the film, I know there’s a whale shark in Finding Dory. Not quite the same as the real thing, but still.😛

    Anyway, Happy Fourth of July to you too.

  2. Jazzlet Says:

    Happy Fourth of July.

    I wish fireworks without bangs were a thing. Our dogs aren’t too bad, but it’s not just animals, I cant imagine it’s great for many service and ex-service people either.


Leave a Reply

