smart phone, six months on

June 29, 2016

You might recall, I got my very first smart phone last January.  How are things going, six months on?

I’m trying to use it to go paperless, as much as I can.  I’ve used mobile boarding passes for nearly every trip since I got it, and I’ve been using it for movie tickets, which is really convenient — no more forgetting paper tickets in the printer.  I’m playing around with a couple of apps to see if I can make all my travel paperless — no more printed reservations, etc.  That’ll be nice.

I’ve been using it for navigation quite a bit, though there’ve been a couple of cases where I would have been better off trusting my instincts.  I’m still ambivalent about the GPS navigation thing, but I’m easing into it.

I haven’t used the camera all that much.  One thing I am using it for:  taking pictures of wine labels that I like.  Theoretically, I can take the pictures to the store to figure out what wines to buy.  It’s a nice thought, anyway.

And what about the instantaneous, ubiquitous communication?  Still not happy with that part.  It’s amazing how that little dinging notification garners an immediate response, like a pavlovian kick to the brain.  Must check phone now. . .  And this is why people text while driving, still, after all the warnings.  Because we’re like rats pushing the button for little food pellets.  The phone dings, must check.  Except, of course, we don’t have to.  I can turn the ringer off.  I can just ignore it.  I still prefer making plans ahead of time — messaging should be for changes in plans, not for making them at the last minute.  I’m training all my friends not to expect instant responses from me.  Hardly anything we deal with requires an instant response.  The smart phone age seems to have made everything seem urgent, when it’s really not.  I don’t keep my phone next to me 24/7 — it usually lives in my bag on the counter in the other room.  I usually don’t get messages right away.

But it is quite nice having a phone available anywhere, just in case.  And I have now been that person who looks something up in the middle of dinner at a restaurant to settle an argument. Then, I put the phone away.

I’m pretty sure I’m still not using the thing to its full potential.  I’m also not really sure what its full potential even looks like.  So, it’s a work in progress.

 

4 Responses to “smart phone, six months on”

  1. Robert Says:

    That’s fantastic! My friend just recently got his first smartphone as well and he’s doing the same as you; slowly easing into it.

    If I may suggest something: there’re actually a couple different apps that you can get that will allow you to scan the barcode or label of wine and rate it; once you’ve accumulated enough of a pallate range/ratings, they can even suggest wines you may like!

    I just wanted to bring it up because you mentioned taking pictures of your wine bottles (which I used to do) in case it interested you at all.🙂 There’re also some apps for beer as well, if that’s a thing you like.

  2. BreePye Says:

    I have equally tumultuous thoughts about smart phones and technology in general. I just posted on this today. Must be something powerful flowing through the ‘verse… to make us all tip and consider.

  3. caericarclight Says:

    They have their place, but I don’t think I’d ever trust it to go traveling without printed out backup copies of tickets/reservations/what-have-you.

    I’m kind-of the opposite about the instant communication thing. By now most everyone knows just to text me and I’ll answer sooner or later.

    My favorite bits so far are the apps that let me scan in my dvd and book collections so I can keep track of what I have, but even with those I make sure there’s a companion app on the pc to keep the info backed up and what-not.

  4. howardbrazee Says:

    There are smart phone apps that will look at your wine bottle. Here’s a review of some of them: http://www.jancisrobinson.com/articles/best-wine-label-scanning-apps-2015


Leave a Reply

