North Pole, CO

June 27, 2016

My brother and I in December, 1980:

north pole 1980

And in June, 2016:

north pole 2016

The ride operator totally gave us a side-eye as we got into the car this time around.  Those things aren’t really designed for two tall adults.  But hey, at least we like each other!

The angle of the shots is different, but you can just make out the slope of the distant hill behind all the trees.  That’s what I notice most about the new picture — all those trees that weren’t there 35 years ago!

Another side by side shot I could do:  me riding the Candy Cane Coaster.  This is an adorable little steel track roller coaster that basically goes in a circle with a couple of little dips in it.  It was the first roller coast I ever rode, and it scared the pants off me back then.  For being such a little guy it really throws you around, and steel tracks always tend to jangle your teeth out.  That thing kept me away from coasters until I was a teenager.  Now, of course, I love them (mostly — I have limits).  So this trip, I conquered my demons and rode the Candy Cane Coaster once more.  Still knocked me around, but this time I had fun.

We also got a big family picture in front of the North Pole “Post Office,” but I need to dig out the one of my mother as a little girl in front of the same building in 1956 to compare.

Mostly, I’m glad my family all gets along and we like spending time together and we can all get on board with having a fun goofy day out with cheesy rides and root beer floats and all the rest.

 

One Response to “North Pole, CO”

  1. Les Alverson Says:

    Still driving your brother crazy, I see!


Leave a Reply

