taking my birding to the next level

June 24, 2016

Somewhere in all my recent birding I realized my field guide was 30 years old.  (Which, believe it or not, actually matters as biologists revise various species, combine previously separate species, etc.)  So I got a new one.

sibleys

This thing is, according to my research, the current definitive go-to birding guide.  It’s huge.  And so far I really like it, because it has pages of comparative pictures for every species grouping (so helpful!  Which warbler is it?  Here!  On one page!) plus both top and bottom views of hawks in flight.

I got a new toy, yay!

 

2 Responses to “taking my birding to the next level”

  1. sarah peterson Says:

    Fun:) I had a very cool bird watching experience recently. There is a cute tree shrub in my front yard and I found a little nest with five eggs therein. I watched the eggs turn into little fluffy babies, then sprout feathers. Then last week I went to check on them and they were gone. I’m kinda bummed. I miss the way they used to give me the stank eye when I would peek in at them… empty nest syndrome.

  2. carriev Says:

    Osprey chick is still in the nest, for another week or so at least! Birds are so great! http://www.bouldercounty.org/os/openspace/pages/ospreycamera.aspx


Leave a Reply

