May the 4th!

May 4, 2016

I tried to figure out what to post today, then I looked at the calendar.

It’s Star Wars Day!

I’m not entirely sure when this became a thing, but I’m really glad that it’s a thing!

Star Wars stuff in my life right now:  comic books.  I read #1 of Poe Dameron, which takes place right before The Force Awakens, and it’s okay.  Sort of like Rogue Squadron lite.  But the real surprise was the C-3PO comic, which I would not have picked up except it’s by James Robinson and Tony Harris.  My beloved Starman Robinson and Harris!  Well played, Marvel, well played!  It’s the story of how C-3PO got that red arm and it’s kind of adorable.  Not deep, just a one-off, one-issue adventure.  Nice, you know?  I’ve also been informed that I would probably really like the Chewbacca comic so that’s next on the list.

I got to thinking about the prequels again. (I know, I know, I’m supposed to stop that.)  I’m wondering if Star Wars stories are inherently about underdogs triumphing over impossible odds.  Like, if those stories and that tone are an inherent part of the Star Wars universe.  But the prequels — that’s the story of the fall of the establishment.  The characters aren’t underdogs, they’re authority figures.  It’s the classic Greek-style tragedy of pride and hubris and a fatal flaw undermining the whole culture.

Is that kind of story inherently in opposition to the feel of the Star Wars universe?  I’m not sure.  But I’m not entirely sure the prequels are aware that they’re Greek tragedy, and so are kind of doomed.  Ironically enough.

Back later, I have comics to read.

 

 

One Response to “May the 4th!”


  1. Recently, El Santo, of the site 1,000 Misspent Hours and Counting, covered the prequels (as well as the original trilogy). The resulting reviews are pretty good at identifying what worked/didn’t work in each film. Anyway, one of the arguments El Santo makes is that Lucas seemed to forget until he got to Episode III that the story he was supposed to be telling with the prequels was, indeed, a tragedy.


Leave a Reply

