more snow!

April 29, 2016

It’s Friday again.  And snowing again.  I used to read books about Wicca and modern paganism and they’d talk about doing outdoor Beltane rituals in the nude and there I’d be in the middle of a Colorado spring snowstorm thinking are you out of your freaking minds?!  Turns out a lot of those books are written by folks living in southern California.

My email today had no fewer than 4 survey requests from various companies I’ve done business with recently.  I hate surveys.  Hate hate hate them.  And I hate that these days I can’t seem to have a single business transaction without getting one in my email a day later.

Next week, I’ll be in Vancouver for the Creative Ink Festival.  That’s ink for writing, not tattooing.  Apparently there has been some confusion.  Come join us if you’re in the area!  I have an extra day to be a tourist, since this will be my first time in Vancouver.  What should I go see?

 

9 Responses to “more snow!”

  1. caericarclight Says:

    Here’s some Vancouver ideas: http://www.zzickle.com/tv/highlander/day1a.html


  2. Maybe those people are warm blooded. lol My fiance lives in New Jersey where it snows a lot in the winter. He always wears shorts which I can’t understand.
    Here (North Carolina) it’s sunny and hot. I used to love doing surveys.

  3. Alex B. Says:

    I just signed up for Creative Ink! I’m super excited. I live about 1.5 hours south of Vancouver, but weirdly have never just visited as a tourist (always driving through to Whistler or whatever). I’ve heard Granville Market is marvelous, though! My parents are huge fans.

  4. melissaart Says:

    Aw snow! I love it when it happens and every time it does, newbies freak.😀 I can see Coloradans who know what they are getting into go naked for Beltane. It isn’t CO without someone wearing shorts in the snow (yea, I know, they are at least partially covered…).

  5. Deb Anderson Says:

    Granville Market is marvelous and you can take a water taxi from downtown Vancouver to the market and back. Also set a side some time to explore Stanley Park either by car or my favorite, horse carriage. It’s so beautiful.

  6. Carbonman Says:

    Things to see/do in Vancouver:
    1) Granville Island Market – there is a market building with 3 major green grocers, 2 fish mongers and 2 butcher shops, plus bakeries (try Terra Breads) fudge and candy makers and lots more. The rest of Granville Island has Emily Carr University, various design & fabrication companies and a cement plant. You have to see the paint work on the aggregate silos. The island is right under the Granville Bridge at the South end of the downtown core.
    2) Stanley Park – 1000 acres of park on the NW corner of downtown. There’s a seawall all the way around downtowns and the park. Lost Lagoon has nesting swans and lots of other wildlife.
    Dozing Cob Swan
    3) Dr. Sun Yat Sen Classical Chinese Garden – a true classical Chinese garden just East of Downtown. Worth a couple of hours to attend the orientation session and walk through the grounds. You may see the first dragonflies of the year by then.
    4) Vancouver Art Gallery – in the middle of downtown, it’s the old Vancouver Law Courts building. They are running MashUp on all 4 levels right now.
    Email me through my website and I’ll give you lots more to consider seeing. We have lots of good eateries here as well.

  7. Jazzlet Says:

    You want my thoughts on your service? Give me something for them, my time is valuable to me. *survey grump*

  8. carriev Says:

    Thanks for the suggestions!

  9. Carol Says:

    If you like ice cream, go to La Casa Gelato. 218 flavours is their official tag line.

    If you like sushi, Tojo’s is world famous. Pricey, but good.

    As you are a crafter, I recommend The Punjabi Market. Fabric and jewelry at great prices plus, of course, Indian food.


Leave a Reply

