more TV superhero neepery

April 18, 2016

I gotta get this off my chest:

So The Flash, Arrow, and Supergirl have all made passing references to Opal City now.  This is a DC universe thing.  Each hero has their own city, right?  Batman is Gotham, Superman is Metropolis, Arrow is Starling City, Flash is Central City (which is nothing like Central City, Colorado, alas), and so on.

Opal City is home to Starman.

The only superhero comic I ever followed with any sort of devotion, that I actually own the first 60 or so issues of, was the 1990’s run of Starman by James Robinson and Tony Harris.  I picked up the comic because the art was beautiful — art nouveau and art deco inspired, streamlined and colorful.  Basically, completely different than the hyper-steroidal messy/gritty Leifeld-style art in every other comic at the time.  And the story was great:  Jack Knight is the younger son of Ted Knight, who in the Golden Age was Starman.  Ted is an old man now, and he really wants Jack to take up the cosmic staff and become the next Starman.  (Me, interested in families of superheroes and the generational issues involved?  Who knew!)  Jack runs an antique store/junk shop.  He doesn’t really want to be a superhero.  Until he does.

At this point, after this many references to Opal City on the TV shows, I am desperate for more allusions to the Robinson Starman run.  Like, I am agonized for them.  I mean, we don’t actually have to go to Opal City (though that would be awesome).  I don’t necessarily need Starman himself (Jack or Ted) to make an appearance (though that would be AMAZING).  But I want something.  A character stops by an antique store run by a punk-looking guy named Jack.  Star Labs consults a gray-haired physicist named Ted Knight.  A mere glimpse of the cosmic staff in someone’s stash, in a box with a return address of Opal City.  I want my own personal Starman easter egg, with a big sign saying HERE YOU GO, CARRIE, ENJOY.

Please?

(Apparently, Robinson has a great deal of control over what gets done with Jack Knight/Starman, which means I’ll probably never get that easter egg.  But I live in hope.)

 

5 Responses to “more TV superhero neepery”

  1. Randy Upton Says:

    How about a cocky Blonde named Courtney on a field trip?

  2. carriev Says:

    I actually just found out about the Courtney thing, since I stopped reading the title awhile ago.

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    For with much geekery comes much sorrow; the more geekery, the more grief.

  4. SonOfNissanSentra Says:

    How about a little Hope O’Dare and Shade?

  5. carriev Says:

    That would do. Shade would really throw those shows for a loop but Arrow has established the existence of the supernatural…


Leave a Reply

