some movie reviews

March 14, 2016

I’m falling behind on movie watching and I can’t say I even really care.  I’m on spoiler lockdown for Captain America: Civil War.  Not going to watch any more trailers and I don’t want to know anything else until it comes out.  That’s not until May, and I think I may even be out of town that weekend.  Can’t even figure it out right now.

But I do have my long review of Deadpool up at Lightspeed.  I don’t think I linked to it yet so there you go.

I’ll have a review of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny out next month.  Yes, it’s a sequel to the 2000 Chinese martial arts movie, released on Netflix only.  It’s a strange new world of distribution, and I’m getting closer and closer to cancelling cable and picking up a few online subscriptions instead.  TV ala carte.  I can hardly remember the days when we had to read the TV schedule and wait for things to come on and make sure we were in the right place and the right time to see them.  Remember when you watched a movie with the realization that you might never get a chance to see that movie ever again?  Me neither.

What I did watch this weekend:  The Sting was on TCM.  This is one of my favorite, favorite movies.  The classic grifter movie, with so much style and charisma and Newman and Redford and oh my gosh the music.  Scott Joplin would be virtually unknown today if not for the score to this movie.  The thing I learned this time:  the actor playing Luther is Robert Earl Jones.  James Earl Jones’ father.  I did not know that.  Thank you, internet search!

 

5 Responses to “some movie reviews”

  1. Sonya Says:

    Nice review of Deadpool. I wasn’t aching to see this one, but I might watch it now because your review was thoughtful. Regarding subversive superhero movies, would you consider HITCHCOCK one of those? Or perhaps KICK ASS (at least the Hit Girl side of things) or parts of THE WATCHMEN? I am not a super hero afficianado, so I would definitely Be interested in your thoughts on those.

  2. carriev Says:

    Thank you! I try to be thoughtful. Watchmen is the most subversive of those, I think. The bad guy wins, and he might not be wrong — that kind of thing. I had a hard time with Kick Ass because it started out subversive, but by the end it embraced the usual superhero tropes — even Hit Girl needed to be rescued. I haven’t actually seen Hitchcock — didn’t get great reviews when it came out!

  3. Jared Moloshok Says:

    To be honest, this looks like a pretty scant year, movie-wise. The only three releases I’m interested in this year are (currently): The Jungle Book*, Captain America: Civil War, and The Legend of Tarzan.

    *Though this version looks to be about as close to Kipling’s stories as the original Disney version (read: not very). Perhaps Andy Serkis’ version scheduled for next year might be better in that regard…

  4. Sonya Says:

    I actually really enjoyed Hitchcock, moreso on the second viewing than the first, because it does a somersault mid-movie that flips the entire feel of the movie into a different genre altogether. I recommend it. Especially watching it twice. Plus – Jason Bateman🙂

  5. Carbonman Says:

    Loved your Deadpool review! I think the movie (and R rating) succeeded because it’s the first super(anti)hero movie to combine all the things it did. It dared to be different and the star went for broke and gloried in the possibilities. There are few actors that could have made this movie a roaring hit as it has become.
    PS Fox and Marvel: a sequel is not necessary!


Leave a Reply

