New Novel Announcement: Bannerless

February 24, 2016

The news went out on Publishers Lunch yesterday, and John re-posted the announcement on his blog, and here it is again:

New York Times bestseller Carrie Vaughn’s BANNERLESS, a novel in which an investigator must discover the truth behind a mysterious death in a world where small communities struggle to maintain a ravaged civilization decades after environmental and economic collapse, to John Joseph Adams Books (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), in a two-book deal, for publication in Spring 2017, by Seth Fishman at The Gernert Company. (North American)

So, when I talk about what I’m working on now, that’s what I’m working on.  If it sounds familiar, it’s because yes, it’s set in the same world as my short stories “Amaryllis,” “Astrophilia,” and “Bannerless” — Enid is the main character.

A big thanks to John and Seth for helping to make this happen.  I’m very excited.  It’s kind of a totally new direction, and my gut’s telling me it’s exactly the right thing to do right now.

A little background on this.

Almost two years ago, I finished writing Kitty Saves the World, and I had a plan for what I wanted to happen next.  Spoiler: Nothing about that plan worked out.  Cue Miles Vorkosigan on the sidelines shaking his head at me, muttering, “Well of course not, what did you expect?”

I went through 2015 without a novel contract in hand — first time in a decade.  This was weird, and this was also why, at all my events and talking online and stuff, I was kind of evasive and unspecific about what I was working on.  I was working on a lot, trying to figure out what was going to stick, and stuff was happening behind the scenes that I don’t feel comfortable talking about.

Toward the end of the year, I got a new agent:  Seth Fishman, as mentioned above.  I’ve had a great time working with Seth.  Something I learned:  changing agents is a normal part of being a pro writer.  When I started talking to my writer friends about it, it turns out just about everyone changes agents at some point.  Good to know.

The short version of all this is:  After a year of flailing, I’m feeling much better about life, the universe, and everything.  I have a novel deadline again, and this makes me happy.

Other things to know:  I won’t have a novel out in 2016.  That’s weird, too.  This makes me really super happy that Patrick and I worked out the details to publish AMARYLLIS AND OTHER STORIES so that I do actually have a print book coming out this year.  (Check out the link to see the cover!)

STUDY ABROAD, my novel about a third generation Martian colonist whose mother is sending her and her twin brother to Earth for boarding school and who isn’t at all happy about it, is currently scheduled for January 2017 from Tor Books.  That’s been bumped back from May this year.  More news when I have it.

And that’s what’s happening.  Whew!  Lessons learned:  always be working on something new, do the things you gotta do to keep your career healthy, and don’t be scared.  Well, at least, don’t stay scared.

I also learned that I have a great support network, with lots of people rooting for me.  That includes my readers, BTW.  Thank you.  That knowledge has been incredibly helpful.  I tell people I’m always working on something new.  I don’t always know what exactly is going to make it out of the gate first, but something will.  Stay tuned.

 

6 Responses to “New Novel Announcement: Bannerless”

  1. Joe Says:

    This is all great stuff, I am looking forward to your new directions,

  2. Matthew S. Rotundo Says:

    Huzzah! Congrats, Carrie!


  3. […] New Novel Announcement: Bannerless — Finally, we start learning what Carrie Vaughn will do post-Kitty Norville […]

  4. Jonathan Stanley Says:

    Will there be a new kitty novel if not what about one from kitty’a universe

  5. Bree Pye Says:

    Imagine all the information I found too late from simply searching for “Carrie Vaughn Blog.”

    Next time you see me… just slap me.


  6. […] via New Novel Announcement: Bannerless — Filling the Well […]


Leave a Reply

