wednesday update

February 17, 2016

I really want to go hiking today.  It’s supposed to be in the 60’s — holy cow do I need a warm sunny day.  But right now it’s overcast and gloomy.  I’m hoping the clouds will break by lunch time so I can GET OUT.  Maybe see some birds.

I am working on a thing right now.  A new book.  Part of the book is a journey and the characters visit lots of towns and meet lots of people.  I don’t have names for any of them.  They’re all just marked by brackets in the text because I don’t want to stop and think of names.  I’m a third of the way into the draft and it’s starting to get ridiculous.  I just need to settle on a naming convention and make a list.

TV:  The X-Files has been a hoot.  So far three good episodes, one crappy one (that first one, where they cribbed all the dialog from the worst of the season seven conspiracy episodes), and one okay one (this week’s, with Mulder’s placebo-induced drug trip?  WUT.).  I really love that they kept the original opening credits, although I’m waiting for an alternate message.  I also love that instead of doing one storyline, they’re basically doing a survey of all the usual X-Files episodes:  metahuman, monster of the week, a funny episode, etc.  We’ll see next week how they wrap it all up.

Legends of Tomorrow.  I’m done.  The first episode was fast paced and rollicking and fun and good enough.  Every episode since then has been a repetitive drag, every line of dialog rehashing basically everything — character backstory, the mission.  Every. Single. Time.  And the characters are all idiots.  They just are.  I can picture Rip Hunter thinking, “Wow, you all really are losers.  I’ve made a terrible mistake.”  But he’s an idiot too, so I don’t care.  I’m done.

And now, back to work…

 

4 Responses to “wednesday update”

  1. Andrew Says:

    I think the X-Files should wrap up by letting all the shoes drop. Let Mulder and Scully go out in a heroic, and unsuccessful blaze of glory and then launch a new show set in the aftermath with their son as the protagonist.

  2. Peggy Says:

    LoT had great promise, but too many leads (nine when they started) to give any of them enough screen time to matter. And then they actually had Vandal Savage and the dagger-MacGuffin in their grasp… and let him go, rather than hold him hostage (keep him sedated) until Kendra woke up so she could kill him. Too much stupidity for me to handle when there are so many other, better shows out there. (Though I will miss Wentworth Miller. He’s the only consistent joy on that show.)

  3. carriev Says:

    Captain Cold is the only reason to watch the show. He lights up the screen.

  4. Carbonman Says:

    I’m done with LoT as well. It very quickly devolved into a mindless exercise in action with no logic. I don’t think it will get renewed if they maintain these dismal storylines. Unfortunately, Wentworth Miller and Dominic Purcell are then going to be available for a new version of ‘Prison Break’ – bad move by the network.


Leave a Reply

