Hail, Caesar!

February 8, 2016

Are you the kind of person who flips to Turner Classic Movies just to see what’s on, happen to catch the middle of a Carmen Miranda number, and three hours later you’re still there because some obscure Oscar winner from 1948 came on and you might as well watch it, and then you keep watching because you want to see what Robert Osborne says about it, and then you see that the next movie showing is your favorite Fred and Ginger movie of all time, and then, and then. . .

I am that person.  And I am here to tell you that the Coen Brothers made Hail, Caesar! for us.

The Coen Brothers are like Tarantino in that their movies don’t look like anything else out there, thank God, and I’ve always liked their absurdist movies like Oh Brother Where Art Thou and The Hudsucker Proxy much better than their serious fare. (Not a fan of The Big Lebowski though, for reasons having nothing to do with the movie and everything to do with the circumstances around which I saw it.  I cannot speak of that here.  Maybe if you ask me in person some time.  After lots of drinks.)

Hail, Caesar! is an absurd, satirical look at Hollywood of the 1950’s, focused on the studio fixer who comes to believe he’s doing God’s work.  It’s less a story than it is a mashup of, well, just about everything.  No genre is safe.  Also, the dancing sailor number starring Channing Tatum is worth the price of admission all by itself.

I had SO MUCH FUN.  And if you’re that kind of old movie fan, you will too.

 

2 Responses to “Hail, Caesar!”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    The last instance for me was The African Queen. Last night I turned on the bedroom tv, got The man who fell to Earth.

    Got Weepy.


  2. To be honest, I didn’t much care for The Big Lebowski either, though there’s a part of me that wants to watch it again, just to be sure of my initial assessment. On the other hand, I loved O Brother, Where Art Thou?, and thought Raising Arizona was pretty good too, so this one sounds right up my alley.

    As far as the Coen Brothers’ more dramatic fare, the only one of those I’ve seen is True Grit, which I wanted to like, but to which I found myself indifferent.


Leave a Reply

