I am in the future!

January 29, 2016

I just got my first smartphone.  My very first.  It was my birthday yesterday, and this was my gift for myself.  I’d been thinking about upgrading for like six months and finally decided, this was the week.

All the clerks at the mobile phone place had to come look at my old phone.  It was a novelty, a little red Nokia, 7-8 years old.  So old they couldn’t port the data onto the new phone. “This is in really good condition for being so old,” one of them said.  “Yeah,” I said.  “I don’t use it much.”  And I really don’t.  I’m still not sure if the new phone is going to change that.  I actually want to use it more, to take advantage of all the nifty things it can do.

And I’m trying not to be scared of it.  I really want to use these powers for good.  Like, to actually make travel easier, stuff like that.  Better organize my calendar and contacts and to do list and things.  I’m taking it in baby steps.

But, yeah.  I have a smartphone now.  Imagine that.

 

10 Responses to “I am in the future!”

  1. N. E. White Says:

    There’s no hope for you now. You’ll be sucked into all the social media sites just like the rest of us!

  2. Toby Says:

    If you got an apple, they may have more equipment for transferring. I had them pull out a huge fishing tackle sized box and they got data off my old candybar style phone – all the contacts… Don’t need to have bought it there if an apple product.

  3. caericarclight Says:

    My phone isn’t exactly smart, but it is kind-of clever. The main thing I use it for is I have a DVD cataloging app that syncs to a desktop version so I can keep track of what I have when I’m out. Would love to find something similar for books.

  4. Robotech_Master Says:

    What kind of smartphone? Android or iOS? Phone or phablet? Amenable to suggestions of people’s favorite smartphone apps?🙂

  5. Elyse Says:

    If you have an android and frequently (or even infrequently) travel to places you don’t know, I highly recommend the Scout GPS app. It’s the thing I use most on my phone that isn’t actually phoning — if it wasn’t for GPS, I could probably get by with a dumb phone.

  6. carriev Says:

    A good navigation app would be welcome. I’ve used an iPad for a number of years now so I’m familiar with a lot of apps. But the data plan and travel options that opens up are new.

  7. Caisey Says:

    I’ve had a smart phone for awhile- an iphone. I don’t know how I would keep up with my dr’s apts, horse stuff, etc. It forced me to be organized. And it can/will sync with my ipad so everything is transfered over without having to do a thing. The gps options vary by phone; some are better than others (the maps one on my phone stinks/annoying). You can also get travel apps/airline/train et—that will synce and make life easier. I would highly suggest looking into the free app options-some are fantastic, others are bordem breakers. It’s a rabbit hole-it depends how deep you want to go.

  8. Carbonman Says:

    You realize you’re now doomed, don’t you? Your life will be encapsulated in a portable electronic device that could have managed all of the data processing for the entire Apollo program and still let you play Angry Birds while sounding your appointment reminders.
    Don’t walk into any light poles while checking emails!
    All kidding aside, many things will smooth out in your business life and a lot of scraps of paper will never come into existence. I’m finally foregoing the purchase of a new Trinote agenda book for the first time in 3 decades or so.

  9. carriev Says:

    The nice thing about being a late adopter is I get so much good advice from folks who’ve been through this already!


  10. […] might recall, I got my very first smart phone last January.  How are things going, six months […]


Leave a Reply

