it continues

January 20, 2016

I had another post planned for today but I’m going to save it until next week because word has come down the internet that my current editor, David Hartwell, is in critical condition, on life support, and not likely to recover.

I remember riding in a cab with him in NYC, from the Javits Center to I don’t know where during BEA, and he started telling stories.  He has lots and lots of stories.  About the old guard and the book world in the 70’s and so on, and I thought, This guy knows where all the bodies are buried.  He’s one of only a handful of people in the field who ever met Alice Sheldon/James Tiptree Jr. in person.  He worked as an editor in one capacity or another for 40+ years, and the wealth of knowledge and institutional memory he has is incalculable.

So I’m not really in mourning for myself, but for the whole field, which is losing part of its heart.

My deepest sympathies to his family during this hard time.

2 Responses to “it continues”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’m so sorry. There’s so much of this happening right now, fresh grief before we have a chance to catch our breath from the the last crashing wave.

    I’m glad that you got to know him. Treasure that.

  2. Beth Says:

    Carrie, I’m so sorry to read that your editor David Hartwell passed away. My thoughts and prayers are with you and also with Mr. Hartwell’s family.


Leave a Reply

