tales from the road

January 13, 2016

At long last, my long (2000 words!) review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens is live at Lightspeed.  Scroll down past the movie poster for the spoiler-filled version.

Reading over it again, three weeks after writing it and after seeing the movie twice more (including once with my brother in Oregon, which was a real treat), I think it’s a pretty good review.  Emotional and fangirlish, with analysis that doesn’t have an ax to grind.  I think that’s the problem I’ve been having with a lot of commentary about the movie:  chips on shoulders and axes to grind.  Stunt nitpicking.  I’m finding I just want to bask in the glow.  Enjoy being a fangirl again.  (That said, apparently if I want to know more about Poe Dameron I should be reading a bunch of comics and the new Star Wars novels coming out, and I don’t have time for that! Argh!)

Related to this, some news:  Starting with this review, I’m going to have a regular movie review column over at Lightspeed.  That makes me a professional movie reviewer.  Isn’t that cool?

My niece came to my signing in Salem.  She and her mom had to leave early (bedtime!), and I was still talking when she came up to me and gave me a hug and a kiss before she left.  I totally stopped to hug her back.  Because dude.  So freaking adorable.

I did actually go to a wildlife refuge in Oregon.  The Ankeny refuge south of Salem.  Saw a flock of 40+ tundra swans, which was spectacular.  I also brought snacks, on principle.

And then I caught a wretched cold that I am still getting over.  Much sadness.  But, life is somehow getting back to normal, and I’m actually enjoying the post-holiday, post-travel normal.

 

One Response to “tales from the road”

  1. Erik K Says:

    Congrats on your movie review column! Is it going to be a regular series (posts every 3rd Tuesday) or more of a once-in-a-while column? If it’s the second, will you be alerting us here when a new one goes up?

    I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on movies more often. They’ve always given me things to think about.


Leave a Reply

