Work I did: 2015 edition

January 4, 2016

2015 was a strange year for me professionally.  I’m hoping to write more about that in a couple of weeks, because there are some implications for what’s going to be happening in the next year or so.  More about that later.  Remind me if I forget.

The important thing, though, is I’m still writing a ton of stuff that I feel good about, and it’s still getting published.  So here’s what was published in 2015:

Novel

Kitty Saves the World.  Yeah, that was a big deal.  Still proud of it.  And it’s been nominated for an RT Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding.  I feel like this is recognition for the whole series, and it makes me very happy.

Novelette

“Bannerless,” The End Has Come, ed. John Joseph Adams and Hugh Howey, May 2015. (reprinted at Wired.com)  This story’s been picked up for two Year’s Best SF anthologies, one edited by Gardner Dozois and one edited by Neil Clarke.

“Always Spring in Prague,” Wild Cards: Aces Abroad (reissue), Tor Books.

“El Hidalgo de la Noche,” e-book publication.

Short Story

“The Girl Who Loved Shonen Knife,” Hanzai Japan, Haikasoru Books.

“Crazy Rhythm,” Lightspeed Magazine, July 2015.

“Sealskin,” Operation Arcana, ed. John Joseph Adams, April 2015.

“Sun, Stone, Spear,” Beneath Ceaseless Skies, March 2015.

“Goodness and Kindness,” The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow, March 2015.

 

So yeah, a pretty good year.  One novel and eight short pieces, which is consistent for me.  And by my count I already have something like four or five stories lined up for next year, plus the collection.  Onward and upward!

 

3 Responses to “Work I did: 2015 edition”

  1. James Says:

    Awesome finale for Kitty! Good on ya, mate. I could easily see her story arc on the big screen or TV series. (It would easily dethrone Twilight/True Blood, etc.)

  2. Ray Dean Says:

    always great stuff from you!


  3. […] couple of weeks ago I posted my award-eligible work from 2015.  I like putting my annual publications in one place because it reminds me that, hey, I really […]


Leave a Reply

