various and sundry

December 30, 2015

Still trying to catch up, complicated by my developing some kind of low-grade respiratory ick.  I’m just coughing a lot.  Ugh.

I saw Suffragette, which was okay, the standard historical drama with political overtones kind of thing.  Well done but not shattering in the way something like Good Night and Good Luck or Belle was.  It got a bit relentless.  My favorite part was probably the intro, which showed women working in an industrial/commercial laundry, while the voice over was a stuffy man reading actual commentary about why women shouldn’t vote — because they’re weak, because they’re flighty, because they’re not responsible.  And I realized then that the Industrial Revolution was built on the backs of women working in factories, who never had a voice in how that revolution was managed.

TV:  Four episodes into the Expanse and I’m still loving it.  PRETTY SPACE SHIPS.  It’s so interesting, having read the books, and sort of knowing what’s coming.  Like, I never did bond with that one guy because he knew he wasn’t going to be around much longer.  And we’ve finally met the Rocinante!  Yay!

Books:  I’m in the middle of Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel — I’m late to the party on this one but it’s just as good as everyone said it was.  Plus, it’s literary science fiction that doesn’t pretend like it’s just invented the wheel, which is really nice.

The Force Awakens:  Finally saw it a second time (last of all my friends to do so, and how did that happen?) and it very much rewards rewatching.  So many little details!  The emotional arc of Rey and Finn and their friendship is so satisfying!  And I think Kylo Ren knows who Rey is.  (“What.  Girl.”  he says, strangling a guy, and I’m like WUT.)

Anyway.  I should try to get some work done.  Argh!  Two more days in 2015!

 

Leave a Reply

