’tis the season

December 25, 2015

I’m writing this a few days early, during a moment of gratitude for all the people who helped get me through this year, the friends and family and colleagues who made me realize how good my support network really is.  I’m lucky.  It doesn’t mean things are easy all the time, but it makes the rough patches more survivable, and helps me realize that I have a lot going for me.

I’m also super grateful for all the really great food that comes out during the holidays.  I realized something this year:  I love holiday food, from the baking to the roast bird and stuffing to fancy drinks and everything in between.  All the food that generally only comes out once a year because it’s time consuming and annoying to make but oh-so worth it.  If we had it all year it wouldn’t be special, and I like that it’s special.

Here we have a dessert spread I did earlier this week:  gingerbread, real fruitcake that was gifted upon me, and chocolate tea bread in the shape of a TARDIS.  Because that’s how we roll around here.

holiday baking

Happy Holidays, everybody, and may we all have a new year we can be grateful for.

 

Leave a Reply

