look what I made!

December 11, 2015

I usually do a lot of baking and cooking during the holidays, and give away the products as gifts.  Because what do you get for the people who have everything?  Cookies is always a good answer.  But I also try to find unusual and fancy (but not too difficult!) things to make, for the wow factor.

Last night, I tried a new-t0-me recipe:  Almond-Pistachio Nougatine.  It looked intriguing.  It’s basically sugar and nuts with a little butter.  But somehow, that thing where you carmelize sugar is often intimidating, because if you get it wrong it just goes burnt and kind of gross.  But, I tried it.

nougatine

I totally did it!  It totally worked!  And oh my gosh, you guys, this stuff is amazing.  Yeah, it’s just sugar, butter, and nuts, but it comes out like a light candy, sweetness with a toasted nuttiness.  I’ve cut it into bars here, maybe half an inch across, and can wrap them up in cellophane to give them away.  Talk about wow factor!  This looks so super fancy but I did it all in maybe 15 minutes.

I’m so stinking proud of myself right now.

 

6 Responses to “look what I made!”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Looks yummy! Great job Carrie!

    Reminds me a bit of peanut brittle but seems simpler somehow.

  2. winterelf2 Says:

    yum! My sister does Almond Roca – pretty much also just butter, sugar, nuts and chocolate. She brings her ceramic pan down for the holidays with her to make it with.

  3. Jazzlet Says:

    Looks yummy. And yes I do know that thing where the caramel is burnt and bitter!

  4. rob westfall Says:

    Wow, that looks great.

    I don’t have pistachio’s in stock at home, but I do have a selection of other nuts, so I just might have to try this.

  5. Janice Says:

    I’m going to have to try this.


Leave a Reply

