Halloween

October 30, 2015

I was all excited because I didn’t have anything planned for this weekend.  And then I realized:  it’s Halloween.  I should probably do something for that.  And isn’t it sad, that I used to get so excited for Halloween, planning my costume weeks in advance, counting down the days…  But as a friend and I were talking about, Halloween used to be the only day in the year when we dressed up in crazy costumes.  Now, I dress up for conventions, for SCA events, for Renaissance fairs, and for the random theme parties that I or my friends have throughout the year (Like the Mystery Men inspired superhero tryout party last year where I threw on some plaid and went as the Scotch Guard?  Good times!).  The thought of Halloween this year is just making me tired.  But then, I kind of felt that way about MileHi Con last week, too — I mean, I love that convention, but it snuck up on me and I didn’t plan well and I got really tired.

My friends tell me these are all signs of burnout.  This is a distinct possibility, I’ve realized.  So I’m going to try to take it easy the next couple of months, enjoy the holiday season, make a bunch of crafty things, and relax.

In the meantime, I did find a last minute Halloween party to go to and my costume wardrobe is such that I will never have to worry about putting together a costume again.  Seriously, I have everything already in stock to make a pretty good Delirium of the Endless outfit.  Also:  fairy wings.  As long as I have fairy wings, I’ll always have a Halloween costume.

Putting on a suit and gloves and Psi Corps pin might be a little obscure for most people, but I could do that too…

Happy Halloween, y’all!

 

One Response to “Halloween”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Sorry to hear that you got so worn out after MileHiCon! I had a blast at your Carrie and the Midnight Hour on Friday and enjoyed everything else at the Con, including the other panels of yours that I went to. I loved the fairy wings you wore for Friday night too!

    I’m looking forward to Halloween, but that’s because I’m going to the NaNoWriMo kickoff party in my area for the night.


Leave a Reply

