Starling City Hamlet, Hanzai Japan

October 21, 2015

Hanzai Japan, including my story “The Girl Who Loved Shonen Knife,” is now available!  Here’s a sneak peek of my story:

“I bet the school is home to a secret laboratory creating superheroes,” I say, and Miki and Ru just stare at me. I keep going. “You know, like some of our fellow students may in fact be superheroes in disguise, with strange mental and physical powers. There’s a secret high-tech gymnasium under the real gymnasium where they do their training.”

Miki says, “If there are secret superheroes, why don’t they do something to save the city?”

That is a very good question.

***

So we decided that the characters of Arrow totally fit into Hamlet:

Hamlet:  Ollie, who is haunted by the ghost of his father.

Gertrude: Moira

Claudius: Malcolm Merlin

Polonius: Det. Lance

Ophelia:  Sarah

Laertes: Laurel

Horatio:  Thea

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern: Felicity and Diggle

Which of course would leave Yorick for Tommy Merlin.

And Fortinbras is Amanda Waller, which means the last scene is her walking on stage and going, “What the hell happened here?” and Thea sort of shrugging weakly with a confused expression on her face.

 

One Response to “Starling City Hamlet, Hanzai Japan”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to reading this one. I’m also excited to sit in on your Midnight Hour with Kevin tomorrow evening at Mile High Con, which I am sure will be tons of fun.

    I’m a couple of seasons behind on Arrow since the last thing I saw was season 2 and all the stuff with Slade, but I really like the comparisons and the final scene you describe made me laugh as well.


Leave a Reply

