homework

October 19, 2015

I’ve given myself some homework — something you need to know if you want to be a pro writer is that there is always homework.  I’m analyzing LeGuin’s The Dispossessed for structure.  This story follows one person through much of his life, alternating between current pivotal events and flashbacks telling the story of his life.  It’s a good structure, I think, that packs in a huge amount of information about the main character, his world, and his place in it.  I’m contemplating a similar structure so I really want to get a handle on what the book does well.

It also turns out this is a book that reads differently at different points in one’s life.  The last time I read it (and first time, I think) was for grad school 15 years ago.  I was 27.  I turned down a lot of pages to note things on those pages (without actually marking passages, alas), and this read through I can’t think of what I wanted to note back then, because of bunch of entirely different parts of the book are jumping out at me this time.  Some of them are things I need to hear at this point in my life, oddly enough, so I’m enjoying this read through.  And making notes.

TV:  I seem to have stopped watching Castle.  This used to be the center of my Monday night dinner parties, but we have so many other shows we’re trying to watch (Flash!  Arrow!), that we can’t be bothered.  The end of last season was such a perfect series finale, and the one episode I’ve managed to catch from this season doubled down so egregiously on the stupid conspiracy thriller plot that the show does so badly, that I just stopped watching and barely noticed.

I’m finally watching The Bletchley Circle, and I started liking it after I decided to stop being so furious at how condescending Susan’s husband is toward her.  It’s such a contrast to the couple of times she speaks with men who have an inkling of what she did during the war.

And…I hear there’s some Star Wars buzz around today?  Up late last night, someone posted a 15 second clip from the new trailer.  15 seconds.  But it had X-wings and pilots and something big happening and dammit but I started crying.

I’ll tell you what I’m looking forward to with all this new Star Wars stuff:  meeting some new people.  Following some new characters and new stories.  My favorite Expanded Universe stories were always the ones dealing with new characters:  Rogue Squadron, Tales of the Jedi, etc.  This is a huge, rich, amazing universe — that’s why we keep coming back to it.  But I want to meet some new people in it, please.

5 Responses to “homework”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    I used to love the Star Wars EU, especially Junior Jedi Knights, Young Jedi Knights, and even New Jedi Order for a while, but then I started not liking a lot of what they were doing post NJO, so I lost interest myself. I am curious as to what they are going to do with the new movies, but I sincerely hope that we meet some new people too.


  2. Rogue Squadron was a blast – but I think the Wraith Squadron portion of the series was better. Aaron Alston has a better grasp of comedic timing that Stackpole.
    “Yub Yub, Commander!”

  3. kyle clarke Says:

    Look forward to the reveal of your new book, whenever that happens!

    I saw new the SW trailer just now. Visuals looked amazing. So far in other episodes, l miss the depth and sort of twinkling mystery Alec McGuinness provided in Obi-wan Kenobi i. His more than one-dimensional ‘force’ framing all the other strengths of the movie to me.

  4. Jazzlet Says:

    Huh, so it’s not just me with not watching Castle this season, I have it all recorded, I look at it when I have nothing in particular in mind to watch and choose something else. Anything else.

  5. David Bowles Says:

    My friends on Facebook call me grumpy cat, but I have zero faith in this Star Wars movie. Maybe it’s just the burn from the prequels, but the prequels also had good trailers.


Leave a Reply

