DragonCon wrap up

September 11, 2015

I returned home to find leaves changing and a chill in the air.  The season turns again, and where did the time go?  The eternal question.

I took a couple of days to visit family in Alabama after DragonCon, which is why it took me awhile to get home and wrap up.  DragonCon was otherworldly.  It’s doubled in size since the last time I went, and I floated through a lot of it, I felt like.  I did a little shopping and a lot of programming and didn’t really get to do anything outside my own schedule, which made me sad.  There were a couple of panels featuring most of the cast of Battlestar Galactica that I just didn’t get to because I couldn’t face the lines and crowds.  Didn’t get to any concerts or dances, and didn’t get to the main hotels to see the costuming.

But I did wear my Robotech uniform for the last half of Sunday. That was fun. Got a few comments!

The last day, I ducked in to see the art show, and there was Pandora Celtica, a fantastic a capella group from Denver, singing in a mini-concert.  So I got to see some really great art and hear some really great music. It was magical and a really nice way to wrap up the convention.

I met so many people and signed so many books, and that was fantastic.  People were really glad I was there, and that made me happy.  While I probably won’t make it back to DragonCon next year (seriously, next year is looking booked up already), I’m sure I’ll be back at some point.  It’s a really unique place and time.  A geek Brigadoon.

 

2 Responses to “DragonCon wrap up”

  1. Ed Stevens Says:

    My son and I met you at Dragoncon and you introduced me to your Kitty series. I said I would give it a try. Just wanted to tell you I enjoyed it and went through all 14 books on my Nook in about 10 days. Couldn’t put it down. I’m sure my boss and wife are glad I’m done. Thanks

  2. carriev Says:

    Oh my goodness that’s amazing! I’m so glad you gave the books a try! Thank you for reading! ( I am envious of fast readers!)


Leave a Reply

