reflections on wrapping up a really big project

September 7, 2015

The question I’ve been asked over and over again for the last month:  Am I sad that Kitty has ended, that I reached the end of the series?

No. No I’m not. What’s more I feel no need to be sad. First off, I finished writing the book more than a year ago. I finished the galleys about six months ago, and that’s when I really said goodbye — that was literally the last piece of actual work I was going to do on the content. I knew it was coming, I was prepared, and that was that.

But now that Kitty Saves the World is out, how do I feel? Well, I’ve been thinking about it, and I’m still not sad. I’m triumphant.

I’ve been working on these books since 2002. That’s 13 years. I’m forty two, which means I’ve been writing Kitty books for over a quarter of my life. In that time I produced over a million words of cohesive story. I’m so incredibly proud of that.

The older I get, the Kitty books will comprise a smaller and smaller percentage of my life.  But right now, and forever, and whatever I accomplish moving forward, I have done this huge, meaningful thing that I know made an impact and that I know is good work. A lot of people never get that. A lot of people never get to experience that, having something huge to point to and say, to announce, to proclaim: I DID THAT.

I am triumphant.

 

8 Responses to “reflections on wrapping up a really big project”

  1. Todd Says:

    Well put! I started reading your books back in 2007, when I took a chance and bought “Long Time Listener, First-Time Werewolf” from the Sci-Fi Book Club. I was immediately hooked, and it’s been a wonderful ride ever since. It was fun watching Kitty grow from being at the bottom of Carl’s pack to the leader of her own, and then literally saving the world at the end of the series. Thank you for those million words and all the books. I look forward to reading whatever shiny novels you release in the future.

  2. DebbieW Says:

    I am so glad that you not only feel triumphant but that you also feel confident about proclaiming your sentiments to the world. It’s been a helluva ride!

  3. Erik K Says:

    I’ve been reading the Kitty books since… 2004. One of my friends pitched it to me – “Werewolf Late-night Radio Host” which, if that doesn’t sell you on a book project, I cannot help you for our tastes differ wildly – and I’ve been hooked.

    When the last book came out, I made sure to buy it and the rest of the series I was missing, then happily restarted at book one and tore through the series in two weeks.

    The ending is amazing. Honestly, I was a little shocked when I saw that the last book had come out. If someone had asked me to guess, I would’ve said that there needed to be another… three books to wrap it up. How could you finish everything everything in a mere 300 pages?

    But you found the end, and the end was great.

    Thanks. I can’t wait for your next project.

  4. carriev Says:

    Thank you all for reading!

  5. jackie Says:

    I am very glad to hear you understand just what you did. you should be proud. Not all works of this size are so cohesively well written. and I agree. a series should have a beginning, middle, and end. It occurs to me that now you can start an new series. But whatever you do, I have enjoyed all the words you have written in.

  6. Carbonman Says:

    My copy is waiting to be read as soon as I finish what’s on my night stand right now (90 pages left). I can hardly wait to dig into Kitty Saves the World.

  7. Heather Says:

    Any chances for a spin off, maybe a Cormac Spinoff🙂 Well a girl could hope just feel like i need some closure with his story with a little bit more of Kitty’s in the background.


  8. […] Vaughn talked earlier this year about feeling triumphant at the end of the Kitty Norville series. And she should; it’s a […]


Leave a Reply

