happy Friday!

September 4, 2015

If all is going as planned, right this minute I am at DragonCon running around like a mad thing being on panels and doing early holiday shopping and gawking at costumes and so on and so forth.  I am very likely having a good time!

In the meantime, I think I’ve mentioned I’m re-watching Babylon 5 and enjoying it immensely.  On the book side, I’ve just read Naomi Novik’s Unprooted, and it may be the best thing I’ve read all year.  It reminded me very much of Robin McKinley’s and Patricia McKillip’s writing, and that’s very high praise indeed coming from me.  Very recommended.  I’ve also just read (late, I know!) Tamora Pierce’s Beka Cooper series, and I can’t wait until my niece is old enough to start handing her books by ALL these authors.  Actually, I’d recommend the Beka Cooper books to just about anyone as well.  Good adventure stuff right there.

Next up, as soon as I get back from the convention: Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Water Knife.

 

4 Responses to “happy Friday!”

  1. Chele Says:

    My daughter and I re-read Tamora Pierce regularly. Fabulous stories about strong young women. I recently read Robin McKinley The Blue Sword for the first time. I’m not sure how I missed that book before. Love to re-read Patricia McKillip as well.

  2. Thomas Stacey Says:

    I love anything Tamora Pierce and regularly re-read her books as well I am currently halfway through re-reading the Wild Magic series and re-read a few pages of Trickster’s Choice which makes me want to re-read both of those books completely too. I’ll have to check out Uprooted, I have still been trying to finish the last couple books of her dragon series.


  3. I think you’ll enjoy The Water Knife. I certainly did. (And it has a car in it I wish was available right now.)

  4. Shara Says:

    I would love, love, LOVE to hear your thoughts on The Water Knife. And thanks for the rec on the Novik! I keep hearing good things!


Leave a Reply

