happy Friday!

July 31, 2015

Ugh, this week, I’m just waiting for a bunch of stuff to happen and it’s hard!

But I got a new toy:

overlock

Some of you will know what you’re looking at.  For those you don’t:  this is an overlock stitch, and it requires a specialized sewing machine called a serger to make it.  And it’s awesome because it gives you nice clean finished edges while sewing a seam and saves a ton of time, and makes the end product nicer and sturdier.

I am now the proud owner of a serger.  I even threaded it myself! (Difficult, because it has four threads and two needles.  Yikes!)  I’ve been wanting one for a long time and I finally decided it was time, because I have this whole stack of sewing projects just sitting there and I realized I would probably get through them faster if I wasn’t dreading things like finishing seams and raw edges.  Plus, I have a really nice silky print that I’ve been scared to death to cut into because it will start falling apart immediately — well, not anymore, because this puppy does rolled hems!

So, I know what I’m working on for the next few weeks.

In other news, yes I have seen the Collegehumor video that happens to prominently feature a certain book:

Yeah.  That’s awesome.

 

 

6 Responses to “happy Friday!”

  1. Jazzlet Says:

    I so want an overlocker (as we call them in the UK), but I also want a bigger standard machine. I’m still using the small portable I was given for my twenty-first, it has managed some amazing things, but is really not up to what I want to do these days.

    Giggling at the hardcore readers ignoring all around them while being paint spattered. My housemates at University used to have a game they played when I was reading fiction in the living room, which consisted of how long they could talk about me without me realising that’s what they were doing. I never realised until my name had been metioned more than once.

  2. Thomas Stacey Says:

    That’s awesome. I vaguely knew what it was from the picture but didn’t realize it was from a serger. My grandma has one and does a lot of things with it, especially making quilts for her kids and grand kids along with some embroidery. Glad that you are enjoying your new toy! I look forward to seeing you next week at the Tattered Cover.

  3. Re Williams Says:

    I’ve made a friend with a serger. Now we can visit, have lunch and then in 30 minutes I’ve neatly finished a project. Next step: buy my own so she doesn’t feel used for her sewing machine. 😉

    Thank you for the great laugh with the video!

  4. Susan Shaw Says:

    I’ve been serging for more than 15 years. It really renewed my interest in sewing. I quilt and make some clothes. If you bought your serger from a dealer or a hobby store and they offer lessons, take advantage of those lessons. They can teach you to use your serger for more that just finished seams. Hope you have lots of fun with your serger!

  5. Mimi Says:

    Congrats on your serger, and thanks for sharing the video – very funny! Looking forward to the next book.

  6. carriev Says:

    Mostly what I’ve done so far is get through the repair pile — very satisfying! But I’m studying the book intently. Really looking forward to rolled hems!


Leave a Reply

