happy friday!

July 17, 2015

Could it be I accomplished a ton of stuff this week because I didn’t travel last weekend?  Am I just going to have to resign myself to the fact that traveling pretty much shoots down the entire week after I get home?  Or did that just happen this one time?  Or did I just feel like I accomplished more because I’m in a better mood?

I may be over thinking this.  But I did have a good productive week which felt nice.

I love my to-do lists, so you can imagine my consternation when I stumbled upon an article that said the most brilliant genius type people in the world don’t use to-do lists.  They use schedules, and instead of simply making lists they actually plot out what they’re doing with every minute of every day and that’s how they accomplish things.

The problem with this sort of article of course is how it implies that if you don’t do things this exact way, you’ll never be successful.  Meh.

This article (which of course I can’t find now) insisted that you can’t prioritize to-do lists the way you can prioritize schedules, and that by actually planning your day out to the minute, blocking out chunks of time for each task, you’ll accomplish more.

I decided that would drive me bonkers.  As open-ended as my days are, it would be really easy just to blow off entire schedules like that.  And that would make me feel so defeated and awful about myself. . .

Because you see, I can prioritize my to-do lists.  I have a master list, and at the end of each day I make up the list for the next day.  That list goes on a little square post-it note.  I can’t overschedule.  And it’s very satisfying to actually cross off everything on the post-it note and throw it away.  If I ever find myself looking for something to do, I refer to the master list.  I’m always doing something, and my schedule can’t get entirely blown up by the unexpected.

One size does not fit all with this sort of thing.  What works for you all?  Precise scheduling, a to-do list, or some combination of both?

 

3 Responses to “happy friday!”

  1. Janice Says:

    I do a ‘to do’ list. Sometimes I have a master list for the week, then I break it down to the individual days. It mostly depends on how crazy my week is going to be.

    Scheduling my day to the minute is just asking for something to explode. So I don’t tempt fate.

  2. KC Says:

    New post-it for each day, usually created night the before. I usually get through these pretty well. Except there’s the occasional, usually-not-urgent task that for whatever keeps transferring to a new post-it for days or weeks on end. Ones I can’t seem to bring myself to lift the first finger towards completing.

  3. Thomas Stacey Says:

    I mostly tend to do ‘to do’ lists myself, though I tend to do them more mentally instead of hard copy on post-it note or anything. I used to do them for work on my outlook calendar and that worked pretty well for me too.

    My problem is I tend to be a horrible procrastinator and get distracted extremely easily. The more firm and real deadlines are the better I seem to do though. Such as I have to be moved by the end of the month, or I have to be at the airport by X for this flight, or even I want to leave between X and X for a road trip.


Leave a Reply

